It takes a village to raise a child

They say it takes a village to raise a child. I never fully understood this until now.

There is so much I want my niece and nephew to learn about life. So many life lessons that I feel they need to know. This leads me to believe that the responsibility of raising and imparting life lessons to your children cannot be the sole responsibility of a mother and father. They simply cannot cover it all. There are not enough minutes in the day. Especially considering children spend at least 6 hours at school and when they get home they are with the helpers/nannies/sisis/ausies until the parents come home. In African culture, we keep in regular contact with our nucleus families. Children are brought up by grand parents, aunts, uncles, cousins and everything else in between even strangers. Folk stories from my maternal grandmother have imparted many lessons. Watching my vatete with her family has inspired me to be the best wife and mother I can be. I was named after her and I hope to taker after her in many aspects of life as well. Consulting with my church mothers has helped clear up some spiritual questions.

I am grateful for all the mothers, fathers, aunts and uncles that have been a part of molding me into the young lady that I am today. I only hope I can do half as good a job to all the children that I come in contact with.

Leave a Reply

