Joblessness

They say the Lord will never give you trials and tribulations that you cannot overcome. And its like God knows just when my spirit is about to throw in the towel and at that precise moment, he puts a smile on my face and makes feel better. I get the urge to keep living because I realise that there is a lot to live for and I get the strength I need to carry on.

It has been a long year.

I graduated from one of the best universities in Africa. I expected large corporations to immediately see my worth and my potential and job offers to be flowing in every direction. But fortunately or unfortunately, things did not turn out the way I wished. I have been sitting at home for the last 9 months. Interviews are sparse and offers are even rarer. But through it all, God has been there for me. I did get angry with him for putting me through all this. I got angry at myself for studying marketing and not accounts like my mother wished. I went through what now seems like the 7 stages of grief but I came out stronger than before. I know heartache. I know what it is to get a job offer and watch it slip through your fingers, to watch your friends get the job you want, live the lifestyles that you always envisioned for yourself. But I never once resented my friends for it because I know my day will come.

The last 9 months have been a chance for me to get to know my family better. I had been missing them during the 4 years I spent at university and this was a chance to spend more time with them. My oldest sister and I are closer than ever before. I have a new-found respect for her and her husband. They have been my granite during this time and I am really grateful I have them in my life.  The best part of my days is when my 3-year-old nephew comes home from playgroup. We switch on the radio or turn to the music channels on TV and dance like there is no tomorrow. I have gotten a chance to watch my niece grow up. She is 5 years old, counts and adds like a grade 1 child and she is such a princess. I’ve had the chance to help her with homework and watch her little face light up when she manages to do the sums in her head.

So all in all, I may have been sitting at home for a long time but I’ve created a lot of memories that can almost compensate for all the sitting.

Leave a Reply

