Day 12

Dear Lizard Brain,

I’ve been noticing you popping up at certain points in this challenge and in my life. It seems like every time I want to do something for my own happiness and growth, you show up to tear me down.

For instance, when I tried to keep my blog up to date my blog, you showed up in the form of procrastination. I wanted to see it through, but instead I sabotaged my success by not completing the tasks on time.

And every time I‘m about to read my bible you show up in the form of fatigue and I sabotage my success by falling asleep or finding something else that is “more important” that can’t wait and has to be done at that precise moment.

Another example was when I tried to change my life by getting my license and you came along in the form of self-doubt. I knew I wanted to shift gears, but instead, you told me I would never get it and I was wasting my time. You filled me with fear and dread.

So I see what you’re doing and I don’t like it. Yes, I know that you’re afraid of change. You’re afraid of what will happen if I succeed. But what you have to understand is that whatever happens in my life will work out for my good. I was put here on earth for a purpose and you are keeping me from fulfilling that potential.
Well, until now, you have.

I will no longer allow you to stop my progress in living my ideal life. So the next time I see you, I will simply ignore you and go on about my business.

It’s been a journey with you, but now it’s time that we part ways.

Sincerely,

Chiedza

living…

learning…

growing…

One thought on “Day 12

  1. Just yesterday I wanted to go and book for a road test. Out of nowhere fear, panic and all these other emotions overwhelmed me. I started to ask myself why I just couldn’t buy my license like other people and told myself I would go to another town to get it. Maybe it was a good thing I’ve been behind with my 31 Day Challenge because this was exactly what I needed to hear. Anyway I faced my fears and went to go book. Even though I didn’t manage to get a time slot, the fact that I went there is what counts.

Leave a Reply

