Day 21

Today I must Purge Negative People from my Life.

This prose comes to mind…

I can’t be around people who constantly put themselves down. It’s like a virus, their foul mood starts to seep through my pores and get into my bloodstream. It’s one thing to vocalize your shortcomings, and then also seek out possible solutions for your problems. But it’s another thing to vocalize your shortcomings over and over and never even attempt to do anything about it.

You go from wallowing in your own muddy pig pen of despair to actively flinging the shitty mud onto your acquaintances, friends, and family. People underestimate how powerful moods and attitudes are, your mood affects other people, your energy affects other people.

God dammit Tyrone, get it together. You’re tearing this family apart.

I don’t know who wrote it but I know how they feel. (click on the link to see the original)

Purging people is something I learnt to do a few years ago because of this one friend who was constantly depressed and suicidal. It was tough to do because he kept mentioning suicide so many times and it started to affect me. I started to look at life negatively. One friend then bluntly said “Listen, if he wanted to kill himself, he would have done so long ago and if he does it won’t be your fault.” Looking back, 4-5 years later, dude is still alive and kicking. And after him, it’s become easier to get rid of people who don’t add to my life but only subtract from my joy and divide my happiness.

I just hope that I don’t become the kind of person someone feels the urge to purge…

Leave a Reply

