Who am I again?

I have found that the older I get, the more frequently I ask myself the question, Who am I? Sometimes I feel like I’m drowning in whatever is happening around me and I find myself seeking something. Something beyond the smiles, the heartaches, something more than that!

Who am I?

Who am I when you’re not looking?

Who am I when your influence is not strong?

Who am I away from your presence?

Who am I?

I am that girl hat is seeking happiness

I am that girl who wants to experience life through different cultures

I am that girl who wants party from Ibiza to

Drink all the wines from Florence to Paarl

I am that girl who does not want to spend the rest of her life being defined

Being defines as someone’s wife, someone’s mother

For when you take all of that away,

Who am I?

Who am I when my soul is stripped bare?

And all the makeup is washed away?

And the sneakers are taken off?

And the celine is sitting in my closet?

Who am I?

Am I his girlfriend?

Is that all there is to me?

Their daughter?

Is that all you see of me?

A banker?

Is that what my life has been reduced to?

Adjectives? Verbs?

Who am I?

Who am I when the world is not looking?

Who am I when you stop caring?

Who am I when you manipulate me?

When you cause commotion among my emotions?

When you make me feel worthless?

When you call me names because I refuse to conform?

Who am I?

There is no manual for this life

No book I can read to define me

No tests I can take to portray who I am

So?

Who am I?

At the end of the day, I am just a child of God,

Seeking meaning to this life

Seeking happiness

Seeking to forge my own paths not live according to those others forged

It’s that simple.

2 thoughts on “Who am I again?

Leave a Reply

