on my grandma…

My grandmother was 92 years old when she passed away. For as long as I can remember, she came to the city for about 3 to 4 months every year. She had loads of funny stories to tell. I was always laughing around her. When she was younger, she wanted to be in a band. She had categorised my sisters and I into the one who gets her the technological stuff, the one who buys her clothes and the one who brings home delicacies. She never asked for these things outright, she used grown up swag where she hinted and it was up to me and my sisters to take care of her needs. And we didn’t mind coz she was gran! She had the ability to bring people together. She managed to keep the families close knit. She was one of the last surviving people of her generation so everyone came to her. We used to take walks together and chat about everything and nothing.  When we watched TV  she made up her own story lines and her rendition of things was so different from the directors version. As she got older she thought that the people in the TV could see her and as we sat and watched TV, she would say look, look, his eyes are following me. These are the memories I have of my gran – full of of smiles, happy thoughts and laughter. I’m grateful I got to spend some meaningful time with her.

she was a very stylish lady!

3 thoughts on “on my grandma…

Leave a Reply

